Determining difficulty of a quilt pattern

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 16 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
2 Posts
Points 100
ambivalentuser posted on Fri, Oct 7 2011 1:43 PM

Hello.  I've just recently started making quilts... I've already made a simple denim scrap one with just squares and a border (which was easy)... and have a more complicated one i've temporarily shelved which I've pretty well screwed up (I figured if a stitch length of 3 was good, a stitch length of 0 would have to be great - and, as I'm sure you can guess, i effectively cut through the fabric at places doing it; so now I'll need some major rework of it)...

Anyway... I have, however, designed myself about 21 different patterns i think I'd like to make.  But, as a newbie, I don't know how difficult they would be *to* make.

For instance, I have one pattern that is made up of 8 6"-wide concentric circles using 12 arcs each.  So, nearly 80% of the quilt is curved pieces sewed to curved pieces.  The ending size will be 8-1/2' square.

How difficult will it *be* to make a quilt like that? 

I'm using a regular sewing machine that's probably about 40 years old...

• | Post Points: 95

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
11,662 Posts
Points 136,157

Welcome ambivalentuser, I'm sorry but I wouldn't have a clue

[Ava, Missouri

• | Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,283 Posts
Points 29,970

ambivalentuser,