thread breakage issues

Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 7
Points 290
jobeard Posted: Sat, Sep 24 2011 6:10 PM

I am having thread breakage issues on my Gammill Vision 18-8.  I've rethreaded the thing about 6 times and since I'm new to longarm sewing (2 months) I'm not sure what else to try.  How do you solve breakage issues?

jo

• | Post Points: 65
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,394
Points 27,280

jobeard:

I am having thread breakage issues on my Gammill Vision 18-8.  I've rethreaded the thing about 6 times and since I'm new to longarm sewing (2 months) I'm not sure what else to try.  How do you solve breakage issues?

jo

I would like to know too, I have a slightly use Tin Lizzie 18 and I'm having the same problem. Maybe some of the long arm experts out there can give us some well seasoned advice.

tia

xoxoxo

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 807
Points 12,424
Joan L. replied on Sat, Sep 24 2011 6:36 PM

Jo, the first time I got my tension out of whack I thought I was going to stroke out. It took a lot of playing with that knob before I got it right again. If all else fails call your dealer. Talk to one of their tecks. They are always very helpful and don't seem to mind a all. They can talk you through almost anything.

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 7
Points 290
jobeard replied on Sat, Sep 24 2011 6:39 PM

well m

I'm off and quilting again.  I changed the needle (felt like a slight burr at tip), loosened the tension and put thread conditioner on my top thread.  So it was one of those things that seemed to have done the trick.  So I'll keep going till the next learning opportunity!  Good luck Tia, with your thread breakage issue.  I usually start with rethreading the machine first but this time that wasn't enough! 

Jo

• | Post Points: 35
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,115
Points 29,745
Ramona replied on Sat, Sep 24 2011 6:39 PM