Top 10 Posters

Purchased quilt squares from yard sale...what to do?

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 15 Replies | 6 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Female
90 Posts
Points 2,015
Denise (denilyn) posted on Thu, Sep 15 2011 4:32 PM

I purchased squares at a yard sale (86 of them); they are 9 patch with sashing...I will include pictures of them so you can see.  I am not sure whether to just go ahead and sew them up and have it quilted or whether to tear them apart and square them up and put sashing back on and then quilt (yikes)?  They are not all square...some are smaller than others.  If I do take them apart how would I square them up without making it look even more funny?   I am fairly new to making quilts so I would appreciate any advice anyone could give or suggestions...thanks so much.  The picture is a little distorted..makes them look a bit elongated...sorry.

The

• | Post Points: 125

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Female
4,843 Posts
Points 85,675

I love the fabric. It will be such a nice quilt. Go for it.

Sukochi

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,482 Posts
Points 43,630

I would square them up on the unsashed side, that may make them off centre, your choice.  It will make a beautiful quilt though.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
1,023 Posts
Points 16,150

Very nice colors, I ma with Quilt Daddy, sew them up. Give credit on your label for where and when you got the blocks!

Judylee

Not Ranked
Female
54 Posts
Points 735
abbey replied on Thu, Sep 15 2011 5:23 PM

I also vote sew them up and get it quilted. It will be beautiful!

Top 100 Contributor
Female
1,009 Posts
Points 19,440