Page 1 of 2 (22 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 21 Replies | 8 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 5
Points 370
David Posted: Sun, Sep 4 2011 7:56 PM

Hi, I'm David. I'm brand new to quilting. Not a completed project yet, just fooling around with sample blocks. I've appreciated quilts since I'd seen them at the State Fair of Texas as a kid, but when I saw 'Amish Abstractions' at the De Young museum here in San Francisco last year I said wow! I want to do that. Since then I've been obsesively watching Elenor Burns and Fons and Porter on TV, going to quilt shows, looking at books and going online. Only recently found a couple of local classes that work with my schedule, so that's next. I just bought a new Babylock. What a difference! I'm sure I'll be posting a lot of questions. Thanks, all.

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,583
Points 75,695
Karla replied on Sun, Sep 4 2011 8:02 PM

Welcome David!  It is so nice to see a man interested in quilting.  We do have one resident male quilter, Richard, who's on line frequently.  I'm sure he'll be happy to see that he now has some company.

I'm a fairly new quilter also, was bitten by the quilting bug when I retired and took my old Singer into a fabric shop to have it serviced.  When I saw all of the quilts on display, I said this is something I just have to try.  I now have a few quilts under my belt and my spare bedroom is filled with fabric.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,847
Points 85,755
Sukochi replied on Sun, Sep 4 2011 8:04 PM

Welcome, David. Glad to hear there is another guy who loves this art. and, I believe, that quilting is an art form. The best, of course.

You will certainly learn so much hangin' with all of us. And you are not our only guy so don't feel alone.

Sukochi

Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,188
Points 15,900
Susan replied on Sun, Sep 4 2011 8:16 PM