Top 10 Posters

Paper for paper-piecing

Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 4 Followers

Posted: Tue, Jun 14 2011 2:13 PM

I have been paper-piecing for many years and have tried all different types of paper from regular copy machine paper  to freezer paper and even tracing paper. I finally have come up with what is the solution for me. I use onion skin paper which was used for typing copy ages ago when we used typewriters. Typewriters? The paper is strong, it prints well and is very manageable. But I don't use what is being sold today. That is too expensive. I bought 500count boxes of it at a yard sale when an office supply store was cleaning out their storage area. The paper prints beautifully. It is a little tricky to print at least on my printer. Because it is so thin the roller does not readily accept it so I place about a half inch of regular paper in the well and lay one sheet on top. I do not have any problem then with the printing. When you print, make sure as I said under my poinsettia quilt, that you check out page scaling and then check NONE.

Check out any local mom-and-pop printing supply store and I bet they will be happy to clean out their shelves. I paid 50 cents a box of 500 sheets and I bought them all.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 13,314
Points 154,618

Typewriter --- what the heck is that???? :o)   I haven't seen onion skin paper in years but I know what you are talking about. 

Marge (AKA Dimples)

Griffin, GA

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 14
Points 230
rockeeann replied on Sun, Aug 11 2013 1:11 AM

Thank you for the suggestion of onion paper.  I learned to type on one of those "new" electric ones.  It had an auto return button.  Ooooooo.  But I kept trying to use the manual return lever that was no longer there.

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,059
Points 170,827
MNnancy replied on Sun, Aug 11 2013 9:10 AM

Is vellum the same as onion skin?  That's what I use.