Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 16 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 52
Points 1,950
Marcy Posted: Sat, Feb 19 2011 11:31 AM

I'm excited to find this website.  I'm new to quilting ... sort of.  I'm 41 years old and just made my first quilt top.  My mother has quilted for what seems like forever to me and my aunt are teaching me how.  I have very little patience though, so I'm just machine piecing tops right now and sending them off to be qulted.  Hope that's not cheating, but with my lifestyle, that's all I have time for right now.

I'm a missionary living in Thailand and I am back and forth to the states often as well, so don't have a lot of time to do hand quilting.  I do have one that I'm working on, but it's been in a bag for quite some time.  I hope to work on it and finish it this year.

Blessings to you all.  I'm looking forward to getting to know more of you on here, especially while in Thailand and needing folks to talk to.  I'm also looking forward to learning much more about quilting from all of you experienced ladies.

Marcy

• | Post Points: 185
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,059
Points 170,827
MNnancy replied on Sat, Feb 19 2011 11:46 AM

Welcome, Marcy!  I believe there are plenty of quilters here who send their tops out to be finished.  Don't feel guilty about that.  It keeps them employed!!!  Some of the gals here hand-quilt their tops (wow! I say), others use their domestic sewing machine, and some have their own mid- or long-arm machines.  There is a group that is practicing free motion machine quilting together.  You might like to visit them to learn more.

Congratulations on your first top!  I saw it in the gallery, and I think it's lovely!

If you are looking for friends to chat with while you are abroad, you certainly found the right place!

On the banks of the Mississippi River in north central Minnesota (Brainerd lakes area)

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 7,228