Page 1 of 5 (63 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 62 Replies | 11 Followers

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,654
Points 82,429
Diane Morgan Posted: Sat, Dec 25 2010 11:03 AM

I'm a self taught quilter mainly from kits, books, videos and a few classes. I jumped right in about 10 years ago and probably jumped in too deep too quick. I have some huge holes. I don't really know how to read rulers and what they can do. I don't even really know how to trim a square correctly. I'm not sure how to cut fabric when I only need a small piece and not a WOF strip. Do I cut a whole strip and then sub cut the small pieces I might need?  It's the very first basics that I never really learned. I can piece, sandwich, quilt, bind fine.

Would Quilt Academy help or are there books or videos on rulers and cutting and the very beginning basics? I'm embarassed to ask.

North of Boston MA

• | Post Points: 185
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 20,218
Points 253,489
Barbara replied on Sat, Dec 25 2010 11:13 AM

Diane , no need to be embarrased I still have to ask the hubby about reading a ruler. Yes the Academy books ,are really good I have both of them and use them often for refrence. Barbara

Liberty,Missouri

EAT!! SLEEP !! QUILT!!

• | Post Points: 5
Top 75 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,575
Points 30,594
Kelley replied on Sat, Dec 25 2010 11:17 AM

Diane Morgan:
I'm embarassed to ask.

Merry Christmas Daine...

Never be embarassed to ask.. I think  many of us started this way....I also just taught my self this way and Im still learning basics every day that I didnt realized that i should or could do.. Never be embarassed to go to the basics to brush up on things that are gray to you.. I do it all the time . I watch as many videos  as I can even basics for technics that other people use that may work better then my self taught methods...

QNNTV.com is a great place to go for lots of different   videos..

Kelleyu

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,824
Points 43,844