Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 8
Points 145
candykisses31061@yahoo.com Posted: Sat, Dec 18 2010 12:21 PM

Hi

Im a newbie to this group I just started quilting I belong to www.sacredheartpassionatestitchers.org

Our group makes quilts for our wounded soilder in Afganistan our quilts have to be red/white/blue 45 inches by 78 inches to fit the gurney and knit scraves also. I would like to see some patterns that would be easy since I am just learning I want to do around the world, but know that would be confusing. I use 61/2 inch squares.

I live in Milledgeville Georgia.

• | Post Points: 80
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,421
Points 415,844
gini replied on Sat, Dec 18 2010 12:28 PM

hi candykisses,  welcome.  i couldn't get the link you posted to work, but it is a wonderful cause.

around the world is easy with strip piecing.    you sew all the strips together, then cross cut them so you have a long line of squares.  you the line them up; offsetting by one each time.  it goes pretty quqickly.  i'll try to find directions for you   gini

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,421
Points 415,844
gini replied on Sat, Dec 18 2010 12:33 PM

http://www.ehow.com/how_2343553_trip-around-world-quilt.html

http://www.lovetosew.com/aroundtheworldquilt.htm  this has better directions, but is for a placemat

http://www.quiltville.com/tatw.shtml

check these out

gini in north idaho

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,720
Points 436,870
Nana replied on Sat, Dec 18 2010 2:12 PM

Candykisses