Page 2 of 4 (47 items) < Previous 1 2 3 4 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 46 Replies | 13 Followers

Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 402
Points 7,370
Valerie replied on Mon, Jun 29 2009 11:05 AM

Good Luck Gini and Sandy on your piecing. I just started to do some English piecing for practice, I won't make anything for awhile. It seems to be going good so far, I have mylar templates that I am using, this way I can reuse them since they are plastic.

Valerie

Woodbridge VA

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 62
Points 934
Tawnya replied on Mon, Jun 29 2009 3:25 PM

I am not an expert at all, a barely novice would be more accurate(three blcoks).  I belong to another quilt forum and they swap blocks there.  The paper piecing blocks are supposed to be sent with the paper on.  The hostess of the swap wrote that she keeps the paper on until the top is constructed.  This tip is not from  my experience since I have practically none,,,,,,,,,but I've written to the hostess and she's great with tips.She does beautiful work, so I feel confident her tip is a good one to share.

Tawnya in Canton, Ohio

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,584
Points 54,511
Sandy H. replied on Mon, Jun 29 2009 3:55 PM

Thanks Tawnya.  I remember from the class I took that she said to leave the paper on until the blocks were sewn together.  I thought since I had put them in rows that it would be ok to remove the paper.  Maybe I should have taken Paper Piecing Part 2!  Thanks for checking this out.  I'm going to put the rows together and see how that works.

Southwest Florida

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 62
Points 934
Tawnya replied on Mon, Jun 29 2009 5:51 PM

Let me know how that works.  If it's not too hard,,,,,,,,,,,,I might try more than 3 blocks LOL.  I thought it was fun, I just got interested in making a quilt for someone and so I didn't finish the paper-piecing. 

Tawnya in Canton, Ohio

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 24,478
Points 362,127