Need help with monofilament thread

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 15 Replies | 6 Followers

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,819 Posts
Points 43,839
Eileen posted on Wed, Sep 8 2010 8:40 AM

Help!  I would love to hear from people who have used nylon monofilament thread.  I am using it to quilt a wall hanging and was doing fine until the last couple of blocks. 

I'm getting "bird nests" on the back as well as loops of the monofilament on the back or places where the bobbin thread stitches look longer than the top stitches.  I have not done lots of quilting so am not experienced enough to figure this one out, plus it's my first time with this thread.  So

far, I have replaced the bobbin, rethreaded the machine & tried moving the tension up & down - nothing has helped.  Any ideas?  Thanks in advance :-)

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
13,698 Posts
Points 248,172
Thea replied on Wed, Sep 8 2010 9:17 AM

Eileen, I can't tell you about nylon as I won't use it - but they do have a polyester - sulky and superior make it and it works fantastically... wish I could help you with the nylon... knowing me and my first attempts with it - they didn't go well so I threw it away and was never going to use it again till my embroidery teacher for the machine told me about superior which is the only brand I buy now... but I do know that it is hard to find ... so sulky would be my 2nd choice...

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,739 Posts
Points 436,595
Nana replied on Wed, Sep 8 2010 9:24 AM

Eileen

I am sorry that you are having so many problems.  I haven't done much with the monofilaments but I do know that the nylon has a tendency to stretch really badly.  I don't know if this may be part of the problem or not.   What you are describing sounds like the top tension is way too loose.  Hope you get this problem figured out really soon...

Vinton, Virginia

Top 150 Contributor
Female
448 Posts
Points 5,660