Page 1 of 1 (9 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 5
Points 120
Peg Lassen Posted: Thu, Aug 26 2010 5:47 PM

I heard somewhere that you can make quilt squares and quilt them as you go.  I'm new to quilting and would like to know the details of how you do this, and how do you sew the pre-quilted squares together without having any raw edges showing.  If anyone can help me out with this, I'd surely appreciate it.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,264
Points 135,013
Stephanie replied on Thu, Aug 26 2010 6:04 PM

Peg, If you are a member and have access to qnntv.com. go in and access the videos to Sewing with Nancy 1800 series. Scroll down and click on "Fold and Finish Reversible Quilts Part 1. The guest is Betty Cotton. The video is wonderful and she also has books in which she describes this method of quilting beautifully so that you end up with a totally reversible quilt.    

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 23,825
Points 352,537
Kris replied on Thu, Aug 26 2010 7:23 PM

Peg,

Jodie's BOM group has a tutorial and discussion on QAYG. some members are using this method for their quilts and they're loving it. It's a different method from the Cotton Theory. You could try both to see which you prefer.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,486
Points 30,250
Diana replied on Fri, Aug 27 2010 6:17 AM

What is QAYG?  I don't speak alphabet soup.  I'd love to do a quilt as you go.  I tie all my quilts because I can't afford the long arm quilting and my arthritis won't let me hand quilt them.  I also have had trouble trying to muscle a large quilt on my home sewing machine.  Thanks.

Diana in East Tn. 

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,649
Points 135,942
Leslie replied on Fri, Aug 27 2010 6:22 AM

Diane, It stands for Quilt as you go.

[Ava, Missouri

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Female
Posts 45
Points 865
Traci replied on Fri, Aug 27 2010 8:29 AM