Page 1 of 1 (14 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 13 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 19
Points 305
SewFreak Posted: Mon, May 25 2009 6:04 PM

I've been sewing since I was around 4 years old but quilting for only about 5 years.  I have been working on perfecting my technigue by piecing traditional quilts.  I have done a few sampler type quilts to try different blocks.  I find I am improving even though it is slow going.  I'm afraid I am a perfectionist which is not always a good thing.  The next technigue I am going to try is hand applique.  I have been hand stitching hexagons for a 1930's Grandmother's Flower Garden quilt.  I find I like English Paper Piecing!  I work full-time in the medical field so this is my stress buster.  So much to try, so little time!  My mother and twin sister quilt along with me whenever we get the chance.  I love to go to retreats because you can learn so much from other quilters and there are  so many experienced quilters to help newbies like me figure out a problem.  My first quilt was a sampler quilt called 'My Favorite Things".  It was a BOM put out by JoAnn Fabrics.  It was not easy and far from perfect but I keep it to remind me how far I have come.  I did another BOM from JoAnn's after that one which has several errors but I laugh when I pull it out as it again reminds me how much I have learned.  It is great to have a circle of quilt friends who giggle along with you when you show off your work as we all know what it takes to create and the frustrations we all suffer from time to time.  Quilting is just so much FUN!

• | Post Points: 80
Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 465
Points 33,785

Hi SewFreak,

That's such a great point: That it does us good to look at old projects and see how far we've come. Afterall, if we didn't learn along the ay, it wouldn't be any fun!

Welcome to our new community!

Jodie

• | Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,540
Points 46,089