Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 100
pgraycarek Posted: Thu, Jul 22 2010 4:51 PM

Hello Everyone ...

My name is Pamela ... you can call me Pam if you'd like. Hope you all are doing great!!

I am new to quilting. I have a couple of ladies who started to teach me techniques and basics of quilting. Summer is here and I'm home with my kids, so haven't had a chance to spend much time with them.

I'm hoping you can help me answer this question to ease my mind. My friend has a beautiful long arm that she does her quilting on. I'd love one, but budget just doesn't afford one, and at this time, neither does space. Have any of you used your sewing machines to do quilting with and if so, can I ask how? I've seen some frames in the fons and porter magazine that looks like you can use them with your sewing machine and was also wondering if anyone out here is familiar with these frames or have used one.

Any advice, suggestions and opinions are welcome.

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,649
Points 135,957
Leslie replied on Thu, Jul 22 2010 6:17 PM
Welcome to QCA Pam, I know you will love it here.

[Ava, Missouri

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,705
Points 436,495
Nana replied on Thu, Jul 22 2010 6:21 PM

Pam

Welcome to QCA.  Hope you enjoy.  I have a midarm on a 12 ft frame but I know lots of ladies do their quilting on the DSM.   I can't handle all the stuffing thru the machine.... hurts my shoulders.

Vinton, Virginia

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,059
Points 170,797
MNnancy replied on Thu, Jul 22 2010 10:28 PM