Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 20 Replies | 6 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 123
Points 2,500
Applekrisp Posted: Tue, Jul 13 2010 4:49 AM

Just getting into this website and enjoying things.  I have been quilting for about 43 years now, always learning, always growing in the process.  I have a blog that I set up when we moved this past year, it is at http://www.sisterofthedivide.blogspot.com  it shows some of my work in a variety of mediums.  I am still uploading past projects.  The last 4 years have been a challenge, thank goodness I have had quilting to fall back on for a meditation.  I lost my mother to cancer, then our mortgage business failed, then we lost our two homes and I was diagnosed with cancer this past year.  We moved from our home the month before my surgery which was quite the endeavor.  I am pleased to report the surgery went well and I am cancer free, with no need for chemo or radiation!  I have learned in this process what things are most dear in life, (by the way...it's not your stuff).  I have had the most wonderful time unpacking fabric and re-exploring my stash, folding and sorting.  We were so fortunate to be able to rent a beautiful home from wonderful folks, I am working for a Doctor in town and my husband is running our insurance agency...so we are gradually seeing a financial turn around.  I spent my time last year working on charity quilts.  I found that my burdens lifted with the thought that someone in need would be snuggling under one of my quilts!  When you are down and have nothing, look for what you can give to others and you will find the most incredible joy, it doesn't have to be a material gift, service is always wonderful as well.  At any rate, I am happy to be alive, happy to be able to pursue my passion and enjoying the beautiful and inspirational photos of all my fellow quilters on this website.   Glad that I joined and looking forward to a year of inspiration and learnin