Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 4
Points 80
NanaMB Posted: Thu, Sep 4 2014 12:15 PM

Hello, I'm the new kid on the block, from sunny Cleveland,Ohio. I'm the mother of four, grandmother of three. I haven't really done much sewing since high school . In the past year or so,I've gotten back into sewing/ quilting. I'm  trying to finish a messenger bag for my daughter . The materiel is double side quilted. I'm supposed to bind the outside seams with bias tape. I'm using my new to me Juki sewing machine and a walking foot since there's so many layers. My machine is skipping stitches,so the tape has big gaps in the stitching. I'm relatively new at this. What am I doing wrong?

• | Post Points: 50
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 131
Points 2,010

I can't say for sure, but the first things I do when I get skipped stitches are to change the needle and rethread the machine from scratch...including taking the bobbin out and putting it back in.  Usually, changing the needle is sufficient.  Make sure you're using a topstitch needle...Good luck.

stitcheraz

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,115
Points 29,745
Ramona replied on Thu, Sep 4 2014 4:52 PM

NanaMB,

Hope stitcheraz was able to help you. Looks like she had great advice. Be sure to share a picture of your finished project. We all love to see.

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,831
Points 39,995
ls2116 replied on Thu, Sep 4 2014 11:16 PM

Sorry , I'm not familiar with Juki machine, but maybe the tension is out of whack from shipping .  If its new i'd take it to shop where you purchased and let them help you.

Quilting My Rainbow

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,461
Points 416,734
gini replied on Fri, Sep 5 2014 7:04 PM