Love mystery quilts!

Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 8 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 45
Ammer01 Posted: Sun, Aug 31 2014 9:55 AM

And it's not as though I don't have ten other projects or ideas on the back burner.  However ...

Hope I can do this with fabric from my stash - I've promised myself not to buy any new fabric until I've made significant inroads in a room full of fabric that I already have!!!

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 90

What is your favorite thing about mystery quilts? Since I've never done one before I'm interesting in why you love them so much. I guess I'm a bit nervous about this, the whole not having any idea how it'll look in the end thing. 

• | Post Points: 50
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 45
Ammer01 replied on Mon, Sep 1 2014 7:15 AM

Actually, I think the "not knowing" is part of what I like.  I'm choosing fabrics I like - or even love - and that helps me to be sure to like/love what is turning out.  (For me the fabric is key.)  The speculation as I complete each clue as to what might be coming is part of the process.  This is less controlled than planning out exactly where each fabric or colour will go in a pattern, but more controlled than a totally scrappy quilt.

If you are careful about the hints they give you on how to choose your fabrics, then you will definitely like the end result.

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 3
Points 60

It takes a leap of faith to do a mystery quilt, but carefully choose fabrics you love and that go together well and you won't be disappointed.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 25,554
Points 377,057
Kris replied on Mon, Sep 1 2014 8:28 PM

I like mysteries as well but I use them as a chance to try fabrics/colours outside of my comfort zone. I've only made one that I didn't like at the end (brights and florals). I couldn't look at it for long. Another QCA-er was happy to take it off my hands.

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked