Page 1 of 1 (12 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 11 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 5
Points 100
Phillip Posted: Sat, Aug 2 2014 6:11 PM

I very proudly made four new king sized pillowcases for my bed, saving about $80.  Now I have four used, excess pillowcases.  I've read around the web how you can turn pillowcases into things, but I was more interested in just salvaging the fabric.  I'm still pretty new to all this; any suggestions as to how I should cut the pillowcases, or other ideas on how they could be used?  They are all white so that's helpful!

Thanks,

Phillip

Not Ranked
Posts 298
Points 4,875

Phillip, a use for your used pillowcases "as-is" would be to launder them in mild detergent, rinse well, and use them for storing (and packaging) of gift quilts you've made or received from others. They also work nicely for storage of seasonal blankets, sheet sets, etc. They make excellent storage that allows fabrics to breathe, unlike plastic which contains chemicals and are terrible for storage of fabrics. If you plan to store a quilt or other fabric items, be sure to launder them too, before storing.

My Sunshine doesn't come from the skies, It comes from the love in my dog's eyes.

-Unknown

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Male
Posts 5
Points 100
Phillip replied on Sat, Aug 2 2014 9:38 PM

Those are wonderful ideas, SpringerMom!  Thank you for the advice.  They would also be a great way to hold batting, which seems to go everywhere for some reason.  I'm pulling the pillowcases out of the dryer right now!

Thanks again,

Phillip

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,539
Points 416,934
gini replied on Sun, Aug 3 2014 3:13 PM

hi phillip welcome to the group.  I store quilts in mine, storing batt is a great idea

gini in north idaho

Not Ranked
Posts 298
Points 4,875

Had never thought of storing batting in them... good idea Phillip! If you have photos, would enjoy seeing the pillowcases you made. We love photos here!