Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 22 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 721
Points 14,105
Carol from Pittsburgh Posted: Fri, Jul 18 2014 11:55 AM

I want to get a new sewing chair and would appreciate some suggestions. I've been using the one I have since 1976. It squeaks so loudly now whenever I turn it and I can't get rid of the squeaks. I don't ever lean back while I'm sewing so the design of the chair back doesn't matter. What does everyone else use? Any pros and cons? Thanks!

• | Post Points: 65
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,562
Points 139,613
Stephanie replied on Fri, Jul 18 2014 5:29 PM

Carol, 

You won't believe it, but I use a dining chair. It has an old fashioned "spring" seat and a straight back. I'd like to have one on wheels, but have yet to find one I can sew for hours  like I can in that chair. 

• | Post Points: 5
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,533
Points 47,530

I have two office chairs that I really like because the height can be adjusted for wherever I am sitting. I have two different machine cabinets and a table that I sit at as well as the computer so it is nice to be able to easily adjust them.  I got one at Ikea and the other at Staples on clearance.

Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 325
Points 4,655

I bought a Koala chair which is adjustable like an office chair but I like it much better.  Most of the office chairs I looked at had arms and I didn't want that kind.  I like the Koala so much that I bought another one just like it for my office!!

Barbara

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,875
Points 32,560
Roxana replied on Fri, Jul 18 2014 7:02 PM

Mine is an office chair on rollers that I can adjust the height to. The other one that I love, also on rollers and on a discount when I purchased the cabinet, is from a then QCA sponsor when I bought my Bertha sewing cabinet. The office chair was less expensive as I think we even got it on sale.