rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 41 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
27 Posts
Points 385
Chanel posted on Thu, Jul 17 2014 1:47 PM

1. Hi I'm new to quilting  
  2. how do you cut a 23 7/8"wide strip. 
  3. Then cut it into 3.       23 7/8" squares.

1. Please help .Thanks 

• | Post Points: 35

All Replies

Top 200 Contributor
Female
392 Posts
Points 5,265

Welcome to QCA, Chanel

You will need 2 yards (I would buy 2 1/8 yds to allow for straightening and fudging) of the fabric you are cutting your 23 7/8" squares from.  The average piece of quilting cotton is only 40-42" wide.  You will need to cut three strips at 23 7/8" wide, then cut each strip down to be square.  You will have leftovers for your stash.

Barbara

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
27 Posts
Points 385
Chanel replied on Thu, Jul 17 2014 4:37 PM

Hi and thank you for answering is this a correct cut or do I need to cut it the other way 

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,925 Posts
Points 125,055

Chanel:

1. Hi I'm new to quilting  
  2. how do you cut a 23 7/8"wide strip. 
  3. Then cut it into 3.       23 7/8" squares.
  1. Please help .Thanks 

Chanel. One of the large 24" square rulers would help. But if you don't have one, use the markings on your cutting mat. 

Lay your fabric on the cutting mat so the bottom (folded) edge is even with a ruler line. Using a 24" quilters rule and rotary cutter, trim off the right edge so it is square.

Turn it around and lay it so the folded edge is again lined up and the squared off left edge is flush. Measure over 24" (if you laid it on the 0", this will be at 24") make your cut just inside (1/8").

You will now have a piece 23-7/8" by 42"

Turn it around and repeat the above instructions.

If this is confusing, (and I'm not the best at giving directions) a local quilt shop would be able to help you with the cutting.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

Not Ranked
27 Posts
Points 385