Page 1 of 1 (8 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 7 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 20
Duffbabe Posted: Thu, Jun 5 2014 1:51 PM

Hi everyone,

I am new to quilting so new that I am just beginning my first project. I haven't quilted since high school and that was only two pillows.  So here I am 30+ years later. Finally got my pride and joy new sewing machine I have been coveting and saving for for almost 12 years, my hubby named it Buttons and Buttons and I are getting to know each other and having so much fun. My old machine just finally decided it didn't want to play anymore and over the last 12 years I only would use it for little things.

My first question and I saw a post about how to calculate how much material might be needed for a project, but I'm feeling a little overwhelmed......can you give me an idea of an average amount of fabric that might be needed for say a baby/toddler size quilt, or even a large say king size quilt?  Just an idea of how many yards.

So happy to have stumbled onto this site.

Thank you,

Patti

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 909
Points 15,095

Welcome Patti.  We are glad you stumbled onto this site also.  You are going to love this site.  We are a great bunch of quilting buds

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,509
Points 417,494
gini replied on Sat, Jun 7 2014 1:25 AM

hi patti, welcome to the group.  if you are not cutting up the fabric, a yard and a half  of two fabrics for  back and front will do the trick on a crib quilt.  how much fabric you will use if you are making patterns depends on how intricate the blocks are.  the more pieces there are, the more fabric you will use.    there is no hard and fast rule on how much fabric you will need, it depends on the pattern you pick.  find a quilt pattern you like and we'll help you figure it out

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 0
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 811
Points 15,425