Top 10 Posters

Double Batting to Emphasize a Pattern

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 11 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
5 Posts
Points 60
Sandy46 posted on Thu, May 29 2014 6:47 PM

Hello, Everyone:  I'm new to quilting...less than a year.  I'm making a quilt for my four year old niece that has a heart in the middle of the quilt.  I want to emphasize the heart by double batting just the piecing in the heart.  I've thought of ways to do it, but because I'm such a novice, i thought I'd ask some experts.   This is why I joined your group today.  How would you double the batting just for the heart portion of this quilt?

• | Post Points: 50

All Replies

Top 100 Contributor
Female
823 Posts
Points 13,500

Sandy on Quilting Arts today I say Pokey's guest used Lofty Batty for the raised section.

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Female
823 Posts
Points 13,500

Lofty Batting.  Not Batty.  Sorry,

• | Post Points: 0
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,467 Posts
Points 416,899
gini replied on Thu, May 29 2014 9:50 PM

hi sandy, welcome to the group. I put an extra piece or two of batting under the spot I want t raise.

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 20
Top 500 Contributor
Female
180 Posts
Points 2,310
MizPat replied on Sat, May 31 2014 5:13 PM

Hi Sandy46, I have done this by using water-soluble(?) thread to baste the second llayer of batting in place. after the second batting is trimmed around the stitching, finish the quilt as usual. After you've finished all the quilting, which shoulld be in  position to hold the second batting in place, spray the quilt with a mist of water in the area of the w/s thread. If you don't want to spray it, you can take a Q-tip or a small paint brush and wet the w/s that way.

Hope this helps

in Albuquerque

It's Quilting! You're supposed to be having fun!

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
5 Posts
Points 60