Very new to quilting

Page 1 of 1 (15 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 4
Points 215
ROBINH2 Posted: Fri, Apr 25 2014 1:40 PM

I just started learning the wonderful world of quilting. I have to say that right now I am frustrated. I guess it will take time and patience.

I am new to QCA and it has so many tips and I am learning some very basic things. I am so excited about learning to quilting.

Does anybody know of some good beginners books related to quilting.

• | Post Points: 110
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,929
Points 33,535
Roxana replied on Fri, Apr 25 2014 1:43 PM

Welcome to QCA! You will find a wealth of friends here!

Where are you from? Are you new to sewing as well?

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
Posts 4
Points 215
ROBINH2 replied on Fri, Apr 25 2014 1:54 PM

I am from San Diego CA. I am very new to sewing. I learned somethings in I believe it was 7th grade. It was a very long time ago.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 935
Points 15,790

Welcome this is a great website and a great bunch of friends.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 384
Points 5,120

Welcome, Robin

Don't let being brand new frustrate or scare you.  We all started at the beginning and got there.  Just think of all the fun learning new techniques, finishing those first few projects (and sending us pictures so we can praise and ahh), starting your fabric stash.  It is great fun!  Just enjoy the process and everyone on QCA is here to help.

Barbara

Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 890
Points 16,810

Welcome, Robinh!  You asked about a quilting book. Alex Anderson has one that is about beginning quilting. Ii's available on Amazon. I don't have this book but I have a couple others of hers. She explains everything very well. 

Start Quilting with Alex Anderson: Everything First-Time Quilters Need to Succeed; 8 Quick Projects--Most in 4 Sizes [Paperback]

Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 162