Buy patterns to save for later?

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 16 Replies | 7 Followers

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 255
Sarathatch posted on Thu, Mar 6 2014 4:51 PM

Hi

I'm a beginner at applique. I have found several applique quilt patterns that I love, but I don't have the skill level (or the time) right now to make the patterns I like. 

Should I buy the patterns and save them for later? 

In the old days, patterns would go out of print, but I don't know if that would happen now in our digital age. The patterns I like are from designers who are selling their patterns on their own websites.

Is it smart or dumb to buy a pattern just to save for later?

Thanks!

Sara

• | Post Points: 140

All Replies

Top 500 Contributor
130 Posts
Points 2,005

Welcome.  Speaking from personal experience, if you are serious about learning the skills, buy the patterns, and gain the skills.  The patterns may or may not be available when you "catch up"...  Websites don't always stick around, designers don't always keep their patterns available, and book runs aren't always up to the demand and budgets may not allow reprinting.  Your tastes may change and a book or books or patterns may end up in your possession that you don't ever use, but that's better than the frustration of not being able to find something you saw and really want...

stitcheraz

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
726 Posts
Points 14,145

Welcome to QCA, Sara!  Buy the patterns you like. You can work on them a little at a time and learn as you go.

Top 50 Contributor
Female
1,877 Posts
Points 32,585

I agree with the other comments; however, I want to add.... "Remember where you put them!"

Start a notebook now of ideas and things you learned. Keep everything there and you'll be glad you did later. If you use a 3-ring binder, you can put your patterns in sheet protectors and have them there for inspiration.