Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 16 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 13
Points 315
Karen Posted: Fri, Feb 28 2014 7:23 PM

Hello everyone.  My name is Karen Stockstill and I joined a couple of weeks ago.  I am still trying to learn the site, it is taking me a little time to figure things out.

I hand quilt, piece and applique.  I have been quilting since 1976 when I made my first quilt for my son.  It was made from all his old t-shirts and toddler clothes.  It looked almost like a crazy quilt.  He loved it to pieces, not joking.

I live in Kansas City, MO with my husband (Mike) and two dogs (Tamarack and Talullah).  We have lived here for 8 years, prior to that we lived in Boise, ID.  We have done a great deal of moving around the country, from D.C. area to the Northwest, to the Midwest, to the South and back again.

I turned 66 on Feb. 26 and retired from teaching reading in January, 2014.  I taught a private not-for-profit school which worked with emotionally damaged teens.  I loved my kids and my work with them.  But age caught up with me.

I would like to meet people like me who hand quilts. I don't know many people who do that anymore.  I would like to learn some machine quilting, but the sewing machine and I have never quite formed a friendship.  Quilting pleases and relaxes me.  While I am quilting I usually listen to Books on Disc, joining both of my favorite hobbies.  I have joined the Hand Quilting Group and have posted my last quilt in the show and tell gallery. 

I hope to hear from you all soon.

kls

• | Post Points: 80
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 212
Points 2,835
Flo replied on Fri, Feb 28 2014 7:45 PM

Hoi Karen.