Page 1 of 2 (28 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 27 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 441
Points 7,940
Sharon Posted: Wed, Mar 17 2010 8:13 PM

I have been quilting for 2 years and have accumulated lots of little left over pieces of fabric. What is an easy way to store them so I can easily find pieces to use in new quilts. Should they be stored by color? Should they be stored by the type of fabric? How do you store your stash?

Sharon

Toledo, OH

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,445
Points 94,185

I throw all the little pieces away! Actually, I put them in a baggie and send them to school with my DH to give to a former colleague. I think the easiest way to store them, though, is by color. Bonnie Hunter would tell you to cut them into 2.5 squares or 3" squares, divide them but light and dark, and use them as leaders and enders. Eventually you'll have enough sewn together that you can start sewing them into 4 patches or 9 patches or whatever.

I know you'll get lots more suggestions. Mine certainly don't work for most people.

BTW, when you said type of fabric, did you mean like regular cotton fabric and batik? For small pieces, I think you can mix them.

Gillette, WY

• | Post Points: 35
Top 150 Contributor
Female
Posts 441
Points 7,940
Sharon replied on Wed, Mar 17 2010 8:49 PM

Thanks Judy, I use mostly cotton and batik fabrics. My quilting group uses fleece for the backs of the charity quilts. We have smaller pieces of the fleece also.

Toledo, OH

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 5,445
Points 94,185

Separate the fleece from the others. Truthfully, I think I would sort the fabric for tops into containers by color. I would use the color wheel as a guide and just go with the primary and secondary colors. You might want to have a container of novelty fabrics, too, like those with children on them.

Gillette, WY

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,770
Points 66,013