Top 10 Posters

Which would be the first best ruler should I buy?

Page 1 of 2 (16 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 15 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 20
Points 340
Terry Posted: Fri, Jan 17 2014 9:37 AM

I am a beginner and have been collecting things I may  need to get started. I am nervously book marking hoarding threads,  needles and material and still think I am lacking something. My next purchase would be a ruler and a cutting board which would be the best? I can't wait to get started

• | Post Points: 65
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,484
Points 43,625
Vivian replied on Fri, Jan 17 2014 9:59 AM

I think (personally) a 6 x24 or 6x12 ruler..  6 x 24 will allow you to cut the width of fabric (wof) when you are straightening the ends.  For squaring blocks a 6 inch square or what ever size works for the block you are making. Each block has to be cut square after sewing so you want to do that as easily as you can. You can start with a few basic rulers but rest assured, you will have a collection in no time!  Mats, get as big as you have room for and can afford. They are expensive. Never store leaning and never store in the hot sun. They will distort and you will cry. 

Hope this helps. 

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,484
Points 43,625
Vivian replied on Fri, Jan 17 2014 10:02 AM

Oh, and take a class.  A good beginners class will teach you how to,use those lovely new tools and you will avoid a world of annoyance. 

• | Post Points: 5
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,059
Points 170,827
MNnancy replied on Fri, Jan 17 2014 9:09 PM

I did start with a 6x24 ruler, but now that I have an 8x24, I use it the majority of the time.  Also, I highly recommend the Creative Grids brand.  It is easy to read the markings, and the ruler has "grippers" built right in that help prevent slippage while you're cutting.

On the banks of the Mississippi River in north central Minnesota (Brainerd lakes area)