rated by 0 users
This post has 12 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 6
Points 100
Julie Posted: Mon, Dec 30 2013 2:20 PM

Greetings and Happy New Year!

I am happy to have found this community as I am driving my family insane with quilt chatter. I think I drove the relatives out of the house last night, although the result of the Bears/Green Bay game claims the greater share of the responsibility.

I have several unfinished projects and am looking for a machine to supplement my simple Janome HD 3000. I can't wait to read about the different machines everyone here uses.

Lately, I've been enjoying the Attic Windows pattern and have always liked variations of Rail Fence, Log Cabin, and Nine Patch. I love textiles and am hoping to branch out a with a bit more harp space. I'm just learning free motion and machine quilting as I used to sew by hand.

I'm looking forward to seeing your projects and learning, learning, learning from you.

I'm a retired registered nurse and seasonal retail worker (discounts!), mother of 2  and grandmother of 2. I'm from NW IN about an hour from Chicago.

• | Post Points: 65
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,426
Points 72,150
Karla replied on Mon, Dec 30 2013 2:25 PM

You've come to the right place, Julie.  We all love textiles, in fact, I have more fabric than I'll ever be able to use in my lifetime.  We also have a lot of retired RN's on this site, although I'm not one of them.  I am retired, however, and still don't have enough time to get all the quilts done that I want to finish.  I currently have 6 projects going at one time.  It does keep me busy and on my toes when I'm not babysitting one of my 5 grandchildren.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,126
Points 411,209
gini replied on Tue, Dec 31 2013 12:07 PM