Top 10 Posters

what color thread should I quilt with?

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 9 Replies | 4 Followers

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 140
maryclark18 posted on Fri, Sep 20 2013 8:35 AM

I'm working on a very basic nine patch quilt. Its lime green/black. What color thread should I use and how should I quilt it since its just squares? Thanks I'm new to quilting.

• | Post Points: 50

All Replies

Top 200 Contributor
Female
341 Posts
Points 6,735

what color is your backing? I like to use a color that can be seen on the back so it shows the quilting there too.....I would probably use a green thread, will give a nice contrast to the black

newport, tennessee

"may there always be work for your hands to do"

• | Post Points: 20
Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 140

My backing is lime green. Like I said this is my first quilt so I probably broke a "rule" by going with a green back.

Top 200 Contributor
Female
341 Posts
Points 6,735

there are no rules about color....it's your quilt...no one else has to like it but you...I think it sounds great...you should post a pic.....I make 95% of my backs white...the reason being is that I don't like to piece my backs and I buy a wonderful white sateen, it is soooo soft, I get it in wider widths from Backsidefabrics.com, plus I like seeing my work on the back. Your work is exactly that YOUR work....no rules ..no worries...  :)

newport, tennessee

"may there always be work for your hands to do"

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
44 Posts
Points 495