Top 10 Posters

Basting Help

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 5 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
21 Posts
Points 550
Dani posted on Fri, Aug 23 2013 11:32 AM

Hello Ladies,
As you may know, i'm VERY new to quilting, and with my last few projects, have tried machine quilting however i'm having a difficult time finding a basting method that works for larger quilts. For wall hangings and small projects I use the basting spray (which I think is great), but it doesnt work as well for lap size quilts or larger. I have basting pins (curved safety pins) which I have tried, but I run into the problem of the backing puckering up so i'm not sure if i'm just not doing it properly or if thats a common problem. I have also tried thread basting, and run into the same problem....the backing moves and becomes folded, or puckered. The only thing i've done that has worked, is basted small sections at a time, and used my hands to hold the backing taut while top stitching...it gives me terrible aches in my hands! Also, I use normal pins and run into sticking myself frequently with that method...nobody wants a quilt with blood-stains.

Any advice you wise women can share would be greatly appreciated!!!

**Sorry it looks like I posted this question under tips and cant figure out how to delete it!! :/--still very new to this online community stuff lol**

• | Post Points: 50

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,467 Posts
Points 416,884
gini replied on Fri, Aug 23 2013 11:51 AM

it doesn't matter where you post it, dani.  i answered you on the other thread

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 20
Top 100 Contributor
Female
1,059 Posts
Points 13,715
Answered (Not Verified) Carey replied on Fri, Aug 23 2013 3:56 PM
Suggested by Cindy