rated by 0 users
This post has 7 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 21
Points 550
Dani Posted: Fri, Aug 23 2013 11:23 AM

Hello Ladies,
As you may know, i'm VERY new to quilting, and with my last few projects, have tried machine quilting however i'm having a difficult time finding a basting method that works for larger quilts. For wall hangings and small projects I use the basting spray (which I think is great), but it doesnt work as well for lap size quilts or larger. I have basting pins (curved safety pins) which I have tried, but I run into the problem of the backing puckering up so i'm not sure if i'm just not doing it properly or if thats a common problem. I have also tried thread basting, and run into the same problem....the backing moves and becomes folded, or puckered. The only thing i've done that has worked, is basted small sections at a time, and used my hands to hold the backing taut while top stitching...it gives me terrible aches in my hands! Also, I use normal pins and run into sticking myself frequently with that method...nobody wants a quilt with blood-stains.

Any advice you wise women can share would be greatly appreciated!!!

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,504
Points 417,394
gini replied on Fri, Aug 23 2013 11:41 AM

hey dani, i'm sorry i misspelled your name earlier.

you need to stretch, very slightly and secure the back before you add the batt and top.   this can be done in several ways.  when i was young i did it on the floor.   i taped, with masking tape, two adjacent corners corners of the back to the floor, slightly stretching the backing until it was smooth on the floor, readjusting the tapes as needed. then i worked down the sides of the back taping one side then the other making sure it was smooth as i go.   i don't want to give the impression that the back is stretched tautly.   i put just enough tension on it to smooth it out.