Page 1 of 1 (13 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 12 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 1
Points 110
Jennifer Posted: Tue, Jul 30 2013 7:14 PM

Hi, my Name is Jennifer, I am new to quilting,and sorta new at sewing, I have always loved quilts& until I started making a skirt here& there. By skirt I mean basic circle with a drawstring or elastic waist. I have always loved quilts, probably because we always used quilts. I remember at night when I was young and the comforting feeling of cuddling up with my favorite quilt,studying the fabric, tracing the stitches with my fingers. I started collecting quilts. It did not occur to me that I could actually make one! As I began to look for fabric for skirts, it hit me. I could make a quilt! I began gathering vintage sheets, linens& any fabric I could. Then I started to look at patterns,that is where I am now. I have studied every quilt in my collection,and tons of patterns online. I am still looking, but not yet sewing. There are so many things I don't know about!   So many beginner patterns, I knew quilting was something completely different & a very special skill. I was going to need help..a lot of help. I have never used patterns, I can hardly sew a straight line! My first skirt was all by hand, then I got a little machine,that was easier. Now I want to make a quilt! I am going to make a quilt,then I am going to make another quilt!! I doodle quilt blocks, I pour over quilt patterns, the only thing left to do is actually Make one..  Thank-you for reading. Future Quilter, Jennifer

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,592
Points 75,980
Karla replied on Tue, Jul 30 2013 7:31 PM