Top 10 Posters

Denim rag quilt help

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 7 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
1 Posts
Points 35
sewhawaiian posted on Fri, Jul 19 2013 1:27 PM

Hi!  I'm new to quilting and am starting with a rag quilt.  The top is denim and the backing is flannel, but I wanted to add a few non-denim squares to the top to give a little color and interest.  Living in a warm climate, I'm not adding batting between the denim and flannel, but what should I do with the non-denim squares?  What should I use to stabilize and yet make them a similar height/weight to the other squares?  Mahalo!

• | Post Points: 35

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 25 Contributor
Female
3,391 Posts
Points 46,980
Answered (Verified) Angele replied on Fri, Jul 19 2013 9:35 PM
Verified by sewhawaiian

Sew hawwaiian, you could use some flannels or an appliqué block instead. Those I would line with flannel or how about using the denim for the back of the square?

Angèle  from NWO

• | Post Points: 25

All Replies

Top 150 Contributor
Female
665 Posts
Points 12,705

I love this site for all types of jean quilt ideas and free patterns. 

http://quiltinspiration.blogspot.com/2011/10/free-pattern-day-denim-quilts.html?m=1

im working on the cathedral windows one now. 

Michelle B
Enjoy family, friends and hobbies

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
3,391 Posts
Points 46,980
Answered (Verified) Angele replied on Fri, Jul 19 2013 9:35 PM
Verified by sewhawaiian

Sew hawwaiian, you could use some flannels or an appliqué block instead. Those I would line with flannel or how about using the denim for the back of the square?

Angèle  from NWO

• | Post Points: 25
Top 25 Contributor
Female
3,391 Posts
Points 46,980
Angele replied on Sat, Jul 20 2013 9:05 AM

Michelle thanks for sharing that website. I went to check things out and they look like so much fun!

Angèle  from NWO

Top 150 Contributor
Female
665 Posts
Points 12,705