Page 1 of 2 (24 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 23 Replies | 8 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 7
Points 245
Debi Posted: Fri, Jun 28 2013 12:58 AM

Hi my name is Debi.  I joined the Quilters Club of America tonight and I am anxious to read everything.  I am a true beginner.  I can't sew.  I have taken sewing classes 5 different times and its just not for me.  It hasn't stopped me from wanting to though.  I started looking at quilts and fell in love with the fabrics I saw.  I began reading quilting books and to practice sewing straight lines.  Then along came the fabric.  Oh my gosh the fabric!  I wanted it all!!!!!  I went to Yards of Fabric and saw a quilt I would love to do.  The owner was so kind.  She spent 3 hours with me just talking and giving me tips.  I knew that was where I was going to buy my fabric for my first quilt.  I did go back and buy it.  My sister owns a monogram store, called Monogramming by Sherri.  Please visit her site on facebook.  She is the best sister in the world.  She gave me a sewing/embroidery machine that she used years ago.  I had to wait months to get to TN to get it.  I'm in Michigan.  She also gave me so much fabric and other items that there was only a little hole to see out of my Van's back window.  First thing I did was take it in to be serviced.  Thats where it is now.  They told me that my machine was worth about $1,000.  I was stunned because its 10 years old.  I've got to admit I am a little scared.  On the one hand I am determined to make a quilt and be good enough to make one for my sister as a thank you.  On the other hand, I'm scared to make my first cut of my fabric.  I got a Take 5 pattern.  I was told that was a good starter quilt.  Any tips would be appreciated.  Ok I have said enough.  I look forward to getting to know everyone and thanks for listening.  Oh I should get my machine back Monday or so. ;) 

• | Post Points: 125
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,649
Points 135,957