Page 1 of 1 (15 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 14 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 10
Points 240
Kathy Posted: Mon, May 27 2013 9:08 AM

Hello all from Williamsport Indiana.  I just joined yesterday and am looking forward to making some quilting friends.  I am a beginning self-taught quilter.  Because I am employed full time and live in a small town, there are no conveniently located shops to take lessons.  I learned to sew clothing at an early age, and in fact made most of my own and my daughter's clothing for many years.  I have always  been a fabric junky.  Always fascinated with quilts, I decided that it would be a good way to learn plus to use some of my fabric scraps.  My first project, which I am hand quilting, is a queen size quilt for my bed - never said I wasn't brave (but maybe not very bright)!  Meantime, a friend is buying a new home so I have started a lap quilt as a housewarming gift.  So now I have 2 projects going-I hope to have the lap quilt done by the end of June.

Kathy

• | Post Points: 140
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,486
Points 30,250
Diana replied on Mon, May 27 2013 9:24 AM

Welcome Cairnmom,   We enjoy to sharing our love of quilting.  We have lots of quilters who have lots of answers to any question you may have.  Enjoy yourself and we'd love to see a pic of your quilts.

Diana in East Tn.  

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 19,760
Points 247,454
Barbara replied on Mon, May 27 2013 9:35 AM

Cairnmom , welcome  to the club. Barbara

Liberty,Missouri

EAT!! SLEEP !! QUILT!!

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 1,368
Points 19,465
safrmaz replied on Mon, May 27 2013 9:54 AM

cairnmom:
My first project, which I am hand quilting, is a queen size quilt

Welcome cairnmom.

You are ambitious to start out with a queen size, and hand quilting it, too!

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 9,057
Points 170,727
MNnancy replied on Mon, May 27 2013 9:59 AM