Top 10 Posters

Anyone out there who does other arts besides quilts?

Page 1 of 4 (58 items) 1 2 3 4 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 57 Replies | 12 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 29
Points 580
quiltcraze Posted: Tue, May 7 2013 2:41 PM

Hi, 

My name is Margaret and I was looking for other people who do other arts besides quilting.  I've been quilting for about 2 years now and I love it.  I also do stained glass specializing in pet portraits, I crochet, and I do beading. I'm an registered veterinary technician and just love animals.  (why I wanted to do pet portraits)

I wanted to make a quilted pet portrait for a friend and thought quilting was similar to stained glass except one is using hard marterials and one is using soft materials.  Basically the same concept, making a pattern, cutting pieces out, and putting them together.  It turned out to be a pretty nice quilted pet portrait.

I was just wondering if there were others out there who do other types of arts and if they incorportate that into making their quilts.  

Look forward to hearing from you all

Margaret

quiltcraze

• | Post Points: 80
Top 200 Contributor
Female
Posts 331
Points 5,860
Jenia replied on Tue, May 7 2013 3:32 PM

I used to crochet, I used to macrame, I used to bicycle, I used to read, I used to swim, I used to cook,  I used to have a clean house,,

Then I started quilting!

lol

• | Post Points: 50
Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 4,592
Points 75,980
Karla replied on Tue, May 7 2013 3:42 PM

Jenia:

I used to crochet, I used to macrame, I used to bicycle, I used to read, I used to swim, I used to cook,  I used to have a clean house,,

Then I started quilting!

lol

Ditto, Jenia, although I still read and sometimes I even cook.  

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,467
Points 416,899
gini replied on Tue, May 7 2013 3:43 PM

Mostly, any crafts I do besides quilting are incorporated into quilting these days.

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 5