Top 10 Posters

Basket Block construction

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 10 Replies | 2 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
5 Posts
Points 100
Joyce posted on Fri, May 3 2013 6:55 AM

I purchased a kit to make a table runner that features 4 basket blocks.  I've cut all the pieces and started piecing them together.  All was well until I went to attach the base or vase to the flowers.  When I stitched those together, my points ended up in the seam line.

So, I increased the size of the two triangles that surrounded the point piece and was able to achieve 1/4 inch of fabric surrounding the point piece.  Beautiful.

Now, as I go to add the base, I find that the diagonal length is a full inch short of what is needed to complete the "square."  

The instructions state that the finished block is 8-inches.  Mine is shaping up to be 9-inches.  I've double and triple checked my piece cutting measurements and my 1/4-inch seams.  

I'm new to quilting... is this a common dilemma with patterns?  Am I okay to keep adjusting?  I realize it will change the entire completed project, which is why I'm writing.  

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Female
1,794 Posts
Points 31,645
Annie replied on Fri, May 3 2013 7:50 AM

HI Joyce,

I am such a visual person that I would need to see a picture of your block.  I don't remember needing to add seam allowances as I go when I'm following a pattern.  THat usually happens when I try it wing it.  Hope to see a pic soon, maybe you misread something in the pattern??

• | Post Points: 20
Top 150 Contributor
Female
436 Posts
Points 7,025
Suggested by Julienne

Joyce,