Beginner Applique

Page 1 of 1 (5 items) | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 4 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 9
Points 225
Jessica Posted: Thu, May 2 2013 10:14 AM

First and foremost, I just want to say that this site is amazing! Everyone is very welcoming and very helpful! I posted a thread a few days ago where I questioned how to add an applique piece to a quilt without the back showing through and received a lot of great advice. I have finally figured out exactly what it is I want to do, but the most important piece is, I have NEVER done applique before! What I want to do is machine applique a logo to the front of a quilt, but I'm not sure where to start or the materials that I need to get started (aside from fabric). Does anyone know of any good youtube vidoes or websites that I can visit that will explain  everything that I need to know to get started? I am the type of person who likes to just jump in and try new things, but I also like to THOROUGHLY research it first so I don't feel like I'm going to mess it up entirely. I know that I will make mistakes as a beginner, but I don't want to ruin my projects entirely. Thank you for all of your help and advice in advance.

Jess

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 28,344
Points 414,814
gini replied on Fri, May 3 2013 7:36 PM

Jess,  I can't look it up right now, but one way is to use a fusible to hold it to the background and run use a buttonhole stitch to hold it down.  I like to use a smaller and close together stitch.   This isn't the best method to secure the edges, bit it is the easiest.   There are several ways to turn under the edges, one is with freezer paper and glue, and securing with a button hole stitch.  Hopefully someone can find a good video for you.

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,664
Points 37,515
ls2116 replied on Fri, May 3 2013 11:10 PM