Top 10 Posters

Oh My Gosh...This Has Been Driving Me Nuts!!!

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 11 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
9 Posts
Points 225
Jessica posted on Tue, Apr 30 2013 5:26 PM

I am a very new quilter, and so far, I enjoy it a lot! I've been doing this for a few weeks now, and want to move onto some newer techniques (free-motion and machine applique). My problem is that I started this really nice "Monster High" themed quilt for my daughter using a block pattern as the front and now I've changed everything and I want to applique the "Monster High" logo as the front of the quilt and have the block pattern as the backing.  I want to make the quilt so that the logo (which will be the front) does not go through to the back and that the block pattern does not show through to the front. I hope that I'm making sense (again, I'm still really new to this), but if you can, please help!!!

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,784 Posts
Points 30,506
Joni replied on Tue, Apr 30 2013 6:08 PM

welcome jc...won't your batting solve that problem?

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,318 Posts
Points 27,020

I agree with Joni, when you sandwhich the quilt the batting should provide a barrier so that there is not shadow.  The only time I have had a shadow is when I used a very lightweight white.  I solved  the problem by using a thicker batting

Elizabeth

From Sunny Southern CA

• | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
9 Posts
Points 225

Thanks for replying to me, Joni. That's what I was wondering...Would I quilt the front to the batting, then quilt the back to a separate piece of batting, and then bind it together?

Not Ranked
9 Posts
Points 225