Page 1 of 3 (33 items) 1 2 3 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 32 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 51
Points 785
Beth D Posted: Sat, Apr 6 2013 12:45 PM

Hi All,

I have a good friend who has requested a Lone Star quilt.  Her sister has one that has been passed down through 3 generations, and my friend really wants one for herself and to pass on to her daughter.

I'm wondering if any of you have a favorite method or pattern you'd recommend I use.  I've been quilting for about 5 years, so I'm not a beginner, but I'm certainly not on an advanced level.  :)

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!  Thanks so much for all the knowledge I've gotten from all of your posts and pictures!

Beth in SC

• | Post Points: 80
Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,221
Points 41,055
Donna B replied on Sat, Apr 6 2013 1:13 PM

Beth D:
I have a good friend who has requested a Lone Star quilt.  Her sister has one that has been passed down through 3 generations, and my friend really wants one for herself and to pass on to her daughter.

Hi Beth D

I'm with you...I have been quilting awhile and wanted to do a Lone Star quilt but they looked very intimidating to me...all those diamonds...yikes!  When I heard of a pattern that was done with jelly roll strips (preferrably batik bali pop strips) I was willing to give it a try.  It actually wasn't very hard with this method.  The main thing was keeping the strips organized in groups.  The designer is from Eastern Oregon and pretty small scale, but I can vouch for the pattern as being excellent.  Here is a picture of mine (still in the UFO stage, ready for fmq):

If you are interested in this pattern, you can order it on-line from the Pendleton Quilt Works at 

http://www.pendletonquiltworks.com/shop/Patterns/QUILT-PATTERNS/Laughing-Lizzies/p/2--two.htm

Winthrop, WA

• | Post Points: 50
Top 500 Contributor
Female
Posts 212
Points 2,835
Flo replied on Sat, Apr 6 2013 2:13 PM