rated by 0 users
This post has 18 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 4
Points 180
Pamela Posted: Sat, Feb 6 2010 5:31 PM

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to QCA and the forums and new to quilting.  I worked for 30 years as a letter carrier here in San Diego and retired 3 years ago.  I enjoyed my retirement very much and then 8 months ago my in-laws came to visit and when my father-in-law went home he left my mother-in-law here.  She's a 94 year old invalid who has dementia so I have a really hard time finding time to quilt.  While I love her, of course, she's a lot of work.  It's rather like having a 2 year old again as she is incontinent too, but her bottom is not as cute as my daughters' were.  LOL!

I have always enjoyed sewing and really enjoy quilting but am intimidated by parts of the projects, namely the actual quilting and finishing.  Any tips are appreciated.  So far I have only completed doll quilts, baby quilts and table runners.  I'm really looking forward to all the valuable feedback.

Pamela

Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 26,050
Points 385,672
Kris replied on Sat, Feb 6 2010 6:16 PM

Hello Pamela,

welcome to the group. I think you're doing a wonderful thing, taking care of your MIL. God bless you.

You'll find lots of tips and tricks here on the site and if you have specific questions there is always someone with an answer.

Enjoy the site.

I really like your avatar photo.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 27,741
Points 436,790
Nana replied on Sat, Feb 6 2010 7:58 PM

Pamela

It is great to have another new member.  I think it is very comendable that you are caring for your elderly MIL.  I know how much work that involves.  As for the finishing a quilt my suggestion is first you just relax and enjoy yourself.  It is lots of fun but first you have to get over the intimadation.  Love to see pics of things that you have done.  And as Kris said if you have any questions just ask.

Vinton, Virginia

Top 10 Contributor
Female