Batting for baby quilts

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 11 Replies | 3 Followers

Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,119 Posts
Points 110,600
Judy T-Bellingham posted on Tue, Mar 19 2013 2:19 PM

A friend of mine said she was told to only use poly batting for baby quilts because it's lighter and can wrap around baby better. Warm and Natural type is stiffer and heavier so isn't the best t use.

I hadn't heard this. I thought poly batting was more difficult to quilt and, besides, I like the cotton batting. But as I'm making a baby quilt for a charity auction I thought I should find out what is the preferred batting.

What can you experts tell me?

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 80

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,379 Posts
Points 24,090
Roxana replied on Tue, Mar 19 2013 2:41 PM

I still use my Warm and Natural for baby quilts but I'm no expert. I hadn't heard that about the poly batting.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,119 Posts
Points 110,600

Roxana:

I still use my Warm and Natural for baby quilts but I'm no expert. I hadn't heard that about the poly batting.

I can't help but wonder if she isn't thinking of baby quilts that are tied instead of hand or machine quilted. Will be interested in what others think. I made baby quilts for my granddaughter from the time she was born (nearly 20 years ago) and always used the cotton.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 75 Contributor
1,486 Posts
Points 30,250
Diana replied on Tue, Mar 19 2013 2:54 PM

I use warm and white all the time for all my quilts, even baby quilts.  I'm not particularly fond of poly batting because it doesn't breathe as well as cotton.  Just my own thoughts.  

Diana in East Tn.

Not Ranked
53 Posts
Points 940