Page 1 of 7 (102 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next > ... Last » | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 101 Replies | 6 Followers

Top 25 Contributor
Female
Posts 6,395
Points 119,521
Patti Posted: Sat, Mar 2 2013 10:57 AM

After the snow dyeing adventure some of us had, I decided to do a little research to learn if the process could be improved upon. 

I have a wonderful book I bought years ago, Textile Dyeing, A Step-by-Step Guide and Showcase,by Kate Broughton. A wealth of information for both the ignorant beginner and advanced. 

So there are different types of dyes.  I looked at our Dylon dies we used, and it does not say what type of dye it is!  For that I googled "what kind of dye is Dylon?" and clicked on "

Dylon dyes | community of dyers.  

or go to the "dye forum"

(I tried to just paste the web site, but couldn't reach it that way).

I am still studying this but between these two sources have learned that even those fabrics pretreated  specifically for dyeing should be washed first.  Synthrapol is recommended.  Do not use soaps that contain sulfites, bleach, softeners, brighteners, or other additives.

When using salt in mixing the dye, do not use iodized salt.  If using distilled white vinegar to set the dye, make sure the strength is 5 %.

The soda ash you find in laundry detergent sections of the grocery store usually contain a brightening agent that will counteract the effectiveness of the dye. 

There is so much to learn.  I am going to experiment and let you all know what I come up with and show the results.

And the Dylon already has soda ash in it, so it does not need to be added.

Patti

Chiliwist Valley

Top 50 Contributor
Female
Posts 2,221
Points 41,055
Donna B replied on Sat, Mar 2 2013 11:22 AM

Good to know Patti...thanks for looking this up.  I'm going to do another batch this afternoon!  

We're losing snow pretty fast right now...so I may have to drive up higher (to get snow) to do any more snow-dying next week.

Winthrop, WA

• | Post Points: 5