Top 10 Posters

Adding interfacing to finished quilt block

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 11 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
6 Posts
Points 180
judy.nell posted on Wed, Feb 27 2013 7:09 PM

I am a beginner sewer/quilter and wanted to surprise a friend with a handmade baby quilt for her newborn.  I spent hours picking out fabric at (what I thought to be) a reputable fabric store.  All the fabric I purchased is 100% cotton quilting fabric, but the problem which I didn't realize until after I had several blocks made, is that the fabric is very thin.  This was pointed out to me by another friend.  Since I can't afford to buy more fabric, my friend suggested I re-enforce my blocks with a fusible interfacing.

Does anyone know if this can be done and/or are there any videos showing a step by step process?  I have searched the internet but am not having any luck in finding the info I need.

My blocks are 6" (finished) pinwheels.  

I really appreciate any help I can get with this.

Thank you......Judy

• | Post Points: 50

All Replies

Not Ranked
Female
11 Posts
Points 175

Judy, are you sure the fabric is really that bad?  I'm just wondering since you didn't notice it until your friend said something.  I think I would just go with what you have.  Adding interfacing may just make the quilt stiff and you don't want that for a baby quilt 0 you want snuggly and drapey.    When you get your blocks sewn together and layered with the batting and backing, it will feel a lot more substantial.   Unless the fabric is like cheesecloth, I'll bet the baby and mother will love it and get a lot of use out of it.  Just my opinion  :)  BTW, are you planning to quilt it or tie it?  Quilting, either by machine or hand, will re-inforce the fabric.

Linda

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,337 Posts
Points 414,644
gini replied on Wed, Feb 27 2013 7:44 PM