introduction

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 22 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
6 Posts
Points 180
Linda Deen posted on Wed, Feb 13 2013 3:18 PM

Hello,  I am new to FMQ and new to QCA I have been taking some online courses from Craftsy.  I know everybody has their own style but Leah Day's not dropping the feed dogs is really new.   Everything that I have every read or seen, tells you to drop the feed dogs.  Leah's says that most sewing machines are not really designed to drop the feed dogs and by doing so it really messes up the tension of your machine.

Anybody have any thoughts.  I did experiment with her idea and could not really tell any difference.

• | Post Points: 110

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Female
5,666 Posts
Points 120,350

Linda Deen:

Leah's says that most sewing machines are not really designed to drop the feed dogs and by doing so it really messes up the tension of your machine.

Anybody have any thoughts.

Welcome Linda. Glad to have you with us.  That's news to me. I always drop my feed dogs.  Thanks for passing this on, I'm going to have to check with my Viking dealer and see what they say.

In the beautiful Pacific Northwest!

• | Post Points: 20
Top 25 Contributor
Female
3,403 Posts
Points 47,130
Angele replied on Wed, Feb 13 2013 3:50 PM

I have watched Leah Day too. I feel I have better control on the movement of my quilt since I don't drop my feed dogs. I just put the stitch length to 0.  By the way Linda welcome to QCA. I think you will meet some amazing quilters here. I know I have and they are always willing to share their knowledge.

Angèle  from NWO

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female
27,720 Posts
Points 436,870
Nana replied on Wed, Feb 13 2013 3:51 PM

Linda

Welcome to the site.  I hope you enjoy your time with us.   I love Leah Day's designs but I still drop my feed dogs.  I guess old habits are hard to break...LOL

Vinton, Virginia

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,205 Posts