Top 10 Posters

How should I go about this....

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 27 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
56 Posts
Points 1,355
Sara posted on Fri, Feb 1 2013 6:11 PM

I am getting ready to machine stitch in the ditch my first quilt. I know I should start in the center and work my way out. My quilt top is 9 patch blocks alternated with solid blocks. I am curious how you all would go about quilting it such as...would work down a seam to the edge one way then turn it 180 degrees and go the other way and then do the same going across it  and keep doing that then go back and quilt the individual blocks in the 9 patches? Does that make sense? Or would you just start in the center and work your way out in all directions? Also I am unsure as to how would be best to quilt the solid blocks? I am thinking of just continuing the lines from the 9 patches across them....what do you think? Remember this is my FIRST time doing this so I want to keep it simple and realistic. Thank you for the help. :) Here is a picture of my quilt top. 

• | Post Points: 95

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
1,509 Posts
Points 30,680
Diana replied on Sat, Feb 2 2013 6:16 AM

Sara,   Just so you know,  Nana doesn't make quilts, she's our tent maker....lol   She makes huge quilts and quilts them on a regular sewing machine.  She does beautiful work so I'd do whatever she says.  I'm going to try and do some machine quilting when she's here at my house at the end of the month.  Then to pick her brain some more in Branson.   I'll figure it out soon and not have to send quilts out to LAQ or tie them like I usually do.

Diana (Bink) in East Tn.  

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,415 Posts
Points 415,724
gini replied on Sat, Feb 2 2013 10:31 AM

here's what leah day suggests, i tried it and it does go a bit quicker.