Top 10 Posters

How should I go about this....

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 27 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
56 Posts
Points 1,355
Sara posted on Fri, Feb 1 2013 6:11 PM

I am getting ready to machine stitch in the ditch my first quilt. I know I should start in the center and work my way out. My quilt top is 9 patch blocks alternated with solid blocks. I am curious how you all would go about quilting it such as...would work down a seam to the edge one way then turn it 180 degrees and go the other way and then do the same going across it  and keep doing that then go back and quilt the individual blocks in the 9 patches? Does that make sense? Or would you just start in the center and work your way out in all directions? Also I am unsure as to how would be best to quilt the solid blocks? I am thinking of just continuing the lines from the 9 patches across them....what do you think? Remember this is my FIRST time doing this so I want to keep it simple and realistic. Thank you for the help. :) Here is a picture of my quilt top. 

• | Post Points: 95

All Replies

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,121 Posts
Points 14,450
Dawn replied on Fri, Feb 1 2013 6:30 PM

I'm no expert, but I do think you should quilt from the center and work your way out.  As for the solid blocks, just continuing the quilting from the 9 patch would be fine.  I love your quilt!  You did great!!!

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
1,027 Posts
Points 13,055

Sara, I've done stitch in the ditch (long stitch length). I started in the middle and went to on edge then flipped it and went from center to opposite edge (N and S). I did the for 4 rows in each direction then started stitching E to W for 4 rows. Then back to N to S doing 2 rows on each side of previous rows. The repeat the process. This will help to keep your quilt from getting wonky. You will still need to square up before binding.