Top 10 Posters

Batting question with flannel fabric.

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 24 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
33 Posts
Points 805
jrcgj posted on Sun, Jan 20 2013 6:19 AM

What do you suggest? I am going to make a quilt for my son using flannel. I was thinking of using the quilters dream puff, but then thought it might be to heavy. So maybe cotton? Help please. 

• | Post Points: 50

All Replies

Not Ranked
33 Posts
Points 805
jrcgj replied on Wed, Jan 23 2013 4:03 AM

Thanks  Caryl Anne for the info. My son is 15. I live in Central PA. were it was a high of 7 degrees. I have a question what is  QS FLANNEL. I'm still new to quilting. 

I do love that I can get all my question asked in just one place. Thanks to everyone with your suggestions. 

• | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
1,507 Posts
Points 30,670
Diana replied on Wed, Jan 23 2013 5:47 AM

I have used fleece for a backing on a child's quilt.  If you check it out, it only stretches in one direction.  I use the non-stretch direction on the length and pin the heck out of the width to keep the stretch under control.  It makes the quilt very warm and I don't usually use batting when using fleece.  If you want to use flannel that is 108" wide, go to   www.fabric.com     They have great wide flannel that I buy and use for backings.  It's the cheapest I've found and my LAQ loves it as well.  It's a very nice quality.

Diana (Bink) in East Tn.  

Top 150 Contributor
Female
665 Posts
Points 12,705

Diana, I just looked at that website, fabric.com and they have great prices on flannel. Is all their flannel good quality or just the wider ones ? I looked at one that says 45 " wide. Just wondering what your experience has been with them? I usually back alot of my quilts with flannel and still use warm& natural for the batting. The quilt then can be used during colder winters and we love the cuddliness of the flannels. 

Michelle B
Enjoy family, friends and hobbies