Two questions...squaring up and marking the quilt for quilting

rated by 0 users
Not Answered This post has 0 verified answers | 3 Replies | 1 Follower

Top 500 Contributor
Female
90 Posts
Points 2,015
Denise (denilyn) posted on Wed, Jan 16 2013 9:07 AM
I have been sending my quilts out to have them quilted and I have never had to square them up...I have not been making quilt tops as long as you ladies have. I am also self-taught through lots of books and web sites. I am really not quite sure how to square up the backing and the top but was told I needed to do this before the quilting process. Can anyone give me any information on how to square these up and/or where I can go to maybe view this? Also, I am not going to quilt by hand and am going to quilt by machine...I have been practicing. I would feel more comfortable with marking up the quilt I think and just following that with my machine. Does anyone here mark up their quilts that they are machine quilting and if so are there any suggestions on what tools are the best to do the job? Thanks so much to everyone for this site and for the wonderful help there is here. I belong to a couple of other sites for quilting and this by far is my favorite. You all make a person feel that any question asked is not a dumb question and I appreciate that very much. :-)
  • | Post Points: 20

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
Female
19,778 Posts
Points 248,014
Barbara replied on Wed, Jan 16 2013 10:00 AM