Page 1 of 2 (19 items) 1 2 Next > | RSS

rated by 0 users
This post has 18 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Female
Posts 8
Points 455
Robyn Posted: Sat, Jan 5 2013 2:59 PM

Just thought I'd say "Hi".  My name is Robyn and I live in central New Jersey.  I'm in the middle of a DIY home addition so between that and my job, I don't have as much free time for fun stuff as I'd like, but hopefully that will change if the house ever gets finished (I'm planning a nice sewing room when it's all finished too!).  I'm an engineer by profession so unfortunately my work hours can get crazy sometimes too.

The closest I've come to any kind of sewing education came back in junior high school, many years ago, so anything I've done in recent years has been pretty much self taught by trial and error.  I got back into sewing, strangely enough, making a bag for the spare tire in my MINI Cooper.  That kind of led to a small side business making and selling tire bags for other owners.  That led me to getting into machine embroidery as well, as some of the customers wanted names or other messages on their tire bags.

Just last year, I decided to finally jump into quilting.  I've always been fascinated by it and have always been looking for an excuse to buy the fun and beautiful quilting fabrics I've always walked past in the fabric store when I was in there to buy duck cloth to make more tire bags.  I've only finished a couple quilt projects so far, but I am definitely hooked.

I'm hoping when I get a bit more free time, I can participate here more and get involved in some of the swaps or block of the month "festivities".  For now, I'll probably just be lurking in the shadows.

- Robyn

• | Post Points: 185
Top 10 Contributor
Female
Posts 11,656
Points 136,082

Robyn, nice to meet you welcome to QCA

[Ava, Missouri

• | Post Points: 5
Top 100 Contributor
Female
Posts 1,035
Points 13,170