Top 10 Posters

Trim question

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 12 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
Female
1,409 Posts
Points 19,530
Melissa Halpain posted on Fri, Dec 14 2012 8:03 PM

Recently I took a beginner's quilting class. Even though I've been quilting for over 2 years, it was suggested that I might learn something I haven't read or learned yet. Of course, in the first 1/2 hour, I learned something new. The question I have is do you all trim your blocks when you are finished or do you ease side and pieces that are not cut or sewn exactly correct. I hope that makes sense to you. I've been taught that each step with a block to square it and/or or trim to what the exact measurements are. Once your block is finished, then trim and/or square to the exact measurements like 10 1/2 or 12 1/2. What do you all think. I usually measure a little big so that I can trim to the correct size.

Georgetown CA I'd Rather Be Quilting

• | Post Points: 65

All Replies

Top 50 Contributor
Female
2,468 Posts
Points 41,125
Mimi replied on Fri, Dec 14 2012 8:50 PM

Melissa,

I know there are many sides to this question and I think you need to do what is most comfortable for you.  I tend to always square up everything I'm sewing.  If the flying geese rectangle is supposed to be 2 x 3 1/2 then I check it to make sure it is.  I square up all finished squares before I sew them together.  I also square up each border I attach.  It never is much off but each of those couple threads adds up after a while, throwing off the quilt.  I know lots of quilters that just ease the extra in.  But I'm not that exact a sewer and I feel better when I check the measurements.  JMHO

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Female
28,511 Posts
Points 417,549
gini replied on Fri, Dec 14 2012 9:13 PM

mostly i don't trim,  but sometimes i need to.  i a piece is really off, i remake it

gini in north idaho

• | Post Points: 5
Top 10 Contributor
Female